Home » Kids » David Rice » Heart-Shaped Cookies and Other Stories

August 27 , 2010

Heart-Shaped Cookies and Other Stories



Heart-Shaped Cookies and Other Stories consists of several previously published stories, nine new flash fiction pieces, and a play by Mike D. García based on Rice's short story "She Flies." Rice skillfully balances humor and sensitivity in his writing, and his imaginative tales and colorful characters appeal to young readers on many levels. Culture and place figure prominently in these narratives; most are set in the lower Rio Grande Valley of Texas and explore issues encountered in contemporary Mexican American life near the border. The collection is specifically for middle-school readers, especially those living in Hispanic communities


“If you’re a public-school teacher, you’ll want Heart-Shaped Cookies in your classroom because it will get your students reading again.” —Texas Books in Review

“Throughout, Rice displays a gift for descriptive turns of phrase. . . . An intriguing variety of stories about growing up Mexican." —Kirkus Reviews

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $8.69. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «Heart-Shaped Cookies and Other Stories»:

Download TXT:


Download DOCX:


Download FB2: