Home » Sci Fi & Fantasy » Robert Nathan » The Collected Works of Robert Nathan: Volume II

March 14 , 2011

The Collected Works of Robert Nathan: Volume II

Portrait of Jennie, Stonecliff, & The River Journey


A variety of work by esteemed American novelist, Robert Nathan. It includes his classic, PORTRAIT OF JENNIE, where Nathan paints his common theme of fantasy and a timeless world. The supernatural thriller, STONECLIFF, reminiscent of a Hitchcock mystery, and THE RIVER JOURNEY, a moving love story where a dying woman's last tribute to her husband is complicated by the arrival of a mysterious man who possesses wisdom and knowledge beyond the worldly realm. 

Download MBR

Read also


A young journalist and aspiring author MICHAEL ROBB has landed a dream assignment: to interview the renowned but reclusive author EDWARD GRANVILLE. The famous writer and his devoted wife VIRGINIA have lived for many years in isolation at their hilltop retreat on the Pacific Coast known as Stonecliff. Not long after Michael arrives, strange things…


About the Author: 

Author of such revered books as PORTRAIT OF JENNIE, THE BISHOP’S WIFE, MR. WHITTLE AND THE MORNING STAR, and STONECLIFF, Robert Nathan was born in New York City in 1894 and was educated at private schools in the United States and Switzerland. While attending Harvard University where he was a classmate with E.E. Cummings, Nathan was an editor of the Harvard Monthly, in which his first stories and poems appeared.

While at Cambridge, Nathan also found the time to become an accomplished cellist, a lightweight boxer, and Captain of the fencing team. After leaving college, Mr. Nathan devoted his time exclusively to writing until his passing in 1985. Early on, Nathan’s work strengthened his reputation with both the public and peers. F. Scott Fitzgerald once referred to Robert Nathan as his favorite writer. During this period, the legendary Louis B. Mayer contracted him to Hollywood to become a screenwriter. Nathan ultimately didn’t enjoy the experience, though the movie industry continually craved his work. Five of his novels have been made into films.

The aforementioned “Portrait of Jennie” and “The Bishop’s Wife,” as well as “One More Spring,” “Wake Up and Dream” (from the novel “The Enchanted Voyage”) and “Color of Evening.” Robert Nathan was the author of over fifty volumes of novels, poetry, and plays, and from this body of distinguished work he acquired a reputation as a master of satiric fantasy unique in American Letters. In the twilight of his career he was known as “The Dean of Author’s,” since many prominent writers including Irving Stone and Irving Wallace sought out Nathan’s guidance. A member of the National Institute of Arts and Letters for fifty years, Mr. Nathan called both Cape Cod and California home. Happily, his last fifteen years were spent in the companionship of his wife, English born actress, Anna Lee.

Show more...

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $2.99. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «The Collected Works of Robert Nathan: Volume II»:

Download Mobi:

Download ePub:


Download Adobe DRM:


Download MobiPocket: