Home » Kids » Steve Watkins » What Comes After

September 21 , 2009

What Comes After


After her veterinarian dad dies sixteen-year-old Iris Wight must leave her beloved Maine to live on a North Carolina farm with her hardbitten aunt and a cousin she barely knows. Iris a vegetarian and animal lover immediately clashes with Aunt Sue who mistreats the livestock spends Iriss small inheritance and thinks nothing of striking Iris for the smallest offense. Things come to a head when Iris sets two young goats free to save them from slaughter and an enraged Aunt Sue orders her brutish son Book to beat Iris senseless - a horrific act that lands Book and his mother in jail. Sent to live with an offbeat foster family and their "dooking" ferrets Iris must find a way to take care of the animals back at the farm even if it means confronting Aunt Sue. Powerful and deeply moving this compelling novel affirms the redemptive power of animals and the resilience of the human spirit.

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $13.09. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «What Comes After»:

Download ePUB 2:


Download MS Word: