Home » Nonfiction » Agneta Wallin Levinovitz » The Nobel Prize

April 11 , 2011

The Nobel Prize

The First 100 Years


The Nobel Prize, as founded in Alfred Nobel's will, was the first truly international prize. There is no other award with the same global scope and mission. The Nobel Prizes in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, Peace, and the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences (from 1969) have not only captured the most significant contributions to the progress of mankind, they also constitute distinct markers of the major trends in their respective areas. The main reason for the prestige of the Prize today is, however, the lasting importance of the names on the list of Laureates and their contributions to human development.

Download pdf

Read also

More Than Good Enough

Half native. Half white.One hundred percent nothing. My mom doesn’t want me. My dad just got out of jail. They want me to go live with him on the reservation, in the Everglades. Trouble is, everybody there just ignores me. At least I get to work with Pippa on my film project at school. We used to be friends…

In celebration of the centennial of the Nobel Prize in 2001, this book offers a clear perspective on the development of human civilization over the past hundred years. The book serves to present the major trends and developments and also provide information about the life and philosophy of Alfred Nobel, the history of the Nobel Foundation, and the procedure for nominating and selecting Nobel Laureates.

  • Introduction (M Sohlman)
  • Life and Philosophy of Alfred Nobel (T Frängsmyr)
  • The Nobel Foundation: A Century of Growth and Change (B Lemmel)
  • Nomination and Selection of the Nobel Laureates (B Lemmel)
  • The Nobel Prize in Physics (E B Karlsson)
  • The Nobel Prize in Chemistry: The Development of Modern Chemistry (B G Malmström & B Andersson)
  • The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (J Lindsten & N Ringertz)
  • The Nobel Prize in Literature (K Espmark)
  • The Nobel Peace Prize (G Lundestad)
  • The Sveriges Riksbank (Bank of Sweden) Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 1969–2000 (A Lindbeck)

Readership: General.
Show more...

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $24.69. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «The Nobel Prize»:

Download ePUB 2:


Download Microsoft Reader (LIT):