Home » Biography & Memoir » E Barrington » The Empress of Hearts

December 25 , 2008

The Empress of Hearts

A Romance of Marie Antoinette


This is the story of the fall of Marie Antoinette – France’s most alluring Queen - and how it was triggered by a dastardly plot, the affair of the diamond necklace. 

Of all the jewels in the world’s history, stained with blood and shame, the most terrible is the diamond necklace that wrought a queen’s ruin and bought about the end of an era. Through its glitter there ran indeed the fires of hell. 

As the Kingdom of France faced social turmoil, and the whispers of revolution could be heard, on the throne sat Antoinette - a lovely creature, proud, airy, the very embodiment of race and high sentiment and a mere romantic girl play-acting with a great queen’s dignity. 

She arrived in in France, a girl scarcely fifteen, luminous with youth and life and beauty to marry the King. 

But she failed to charm her dull husband though the very safety of France demanded an heir. 

And then after eight years of marriage suddenly the Dauphin, now king, awoke as from a drugged sleep to the worth of his treasure that all the world envied. 

To prove his new-found passion he pledged to her the finest and most expensive necklace in the Kingdom. 

But Marie-Antoinette, sensible of the plight of the common people, the debt on the country left by the old King and the sounds of rebellion, refused the gift. 

Unbeknownst to her, one of her courtiers Jeanne de Lamotte-Vallois, would use the necklace to create a scandal that would shake the Throne to its foundations… 

This is the dramatic story of the events that eventually led to the death of Marie Antoinette – the Empress of Hearts – and the start of the French Revolution. 

‘The writing has considerable charm’ – The Spectator 

E Barrington is a pseudonym of Elizabeth Louisa Moresby (1862 – 3 January 1931), a British-born novelist who became the first prolific, female fantasy writer in Canada. Her other historical novels include ‘Glorious Apollo: The Life of Lord Byron’, ‘The Exquisite Perdita’, ‘Anne Boleyn’ and ‘The Laughing Queen: A Novel of Cleopatra’. 

Endeavour Press is the UK’s leading independent publisher of digital books.

Download txt

Read also

Game of My Life Texas A&M Aggies

Game of My Life Texas A&M Aggies describes, in colorful detail, the single-favorite game of some of Texas A&M’s greatest football legends. While each of these stars has different memories, they all certainly have a place in Texas A&M’s football history. Discover all the details surrounding these monumental moments—the unique aura of…

Show more...

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $0.99. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «The Empress of Hearts»:

Download DOCX:


Download MS Word:


Download Amazon Kindle: