Home » Nonfiction » Paul Cuadros » A Home on the Field

July 27 , 2008

A Home on the Field

The Great Latino Migration Comes to Smal


A Home on the Field is about faith, loyalty, and trust. It is a parable in the tradition of Stand and Deliver and Hoosiers—a story of one team and their accidental coach who became certain heroes to the whole community.

Download LIT

Read also

Ready, Set, Jett

READY, SET, JETT In this reader-favorite novella from New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster, all middle school teacher Natalie Alexander needs to get her head—and heart—together is a vacation from her no-strings romance with her sexy next-door neighbor. But her solo trip south turns into a disaster when gorgeous PI Jett…

For the past ten years, Siler City, North Carolina, has been at the front lines of immigration in the interior portion of the United States. Like a number of small Southern towns, workers come from traditional Latino enclaves across the United States, as well as from Latin American countries, to work in what is considered the home of industrial-scale poultry processing. At enormous risk, these people have come with the hope of a better life and a chance to realize their portion of the American Dream.

But it isn't always easy. Assimilation into the South is fraught with struggles, and in no place is this more poignant than in the schools. When Paul Cuadros packed his bags and moved south to study the impact of the burgeoning Latino community, he encountered a culture clash between the long-time residents and the newcomers that eventually boiled over into an anti-immigrant rally featuring former Klansman David Duke.

It became Paul's goal to show the growing numbers of Latino youth that their lives could be more than the cutting line at the poultry plants, that finishing high school and heading to college could be a reality. He needed to find something that the boys could commit to passionately, knowing that devotion to something bigger than them would be the key to helping the boys find where they fit in the world. The answer was soccer.

But Siler City, like so many other small rural communities, was a football town, and long-time residents saw soccer as a foreign sport and yet another accommodation to the newcomers. After an uphill battle, the Jets soccer team at Jordan-Matthews High School was born. Suffering setbacks and heartbreak, the majority Latino team, in only three seasons and against all odds, emerged poised to win the state championship.

Show more...

Date release: October 13, 2009

Nonfiction, Sports
Home, Field, Paul, Cuadros, download, MS Word, Adobe DRM, Sony BookReader, DOCX

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $10.59. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «A Home on the Field»:

Download MS Word:


Download Adobe DRM:


Download Sony BookReader:


Download DOCX: