Home » Fiction & Literature » E.W. Hornung » The Amateur Cracksman

December 29 , 2010

The Amateur Cracksman


Classic Crime Press presents you The Amateur Cracksman in a fantastic ebook edition.
The Amateur Cracksman was the original short story collection by E.W. Hornung featuring his most famous character, A. J. Raffles, a gentleman thief in late Victorian Great Britain. It was first published in 1899. The book was very well received and spawned three follow-ups: two more short story collections, The Black Mask (1901) and A Thief in the Night (1904), as well as a full-length novel, Mr. Justice Raffles in 1909.
Arthur Raffles is a prominent member of London society, and a national sporting hero. As a cricketer he regularly represents England in Test matches. He uses this as a chance to commit a number of burglaries, primarily stealing valuable jewelry from his hosts. In this he is assisted by his friend, the younger, idealistic Bunny Manders. Both men are constantly under the surveillance of Inspector Mackenzie of Scotland Yard who is always thwarted in his attempts to pin the crimes on Raffles.
In the final story, “The Gift of the Emperor”, Raffles is called into service on behalf of the Foreign Office who wish to recover a valuable pearl from a German diplomat staying in England. However, this is only in the TV adaptation; in the book he is working entirely for his own profit.
The short stories included in the collection are:
“The Ides of March”
“A Costume Piece”
“Gentlemen and Players”
“Le Premier Pas”
“Wilful Murder”
“Nine Points of the Law”
“The Return Match”
“The Gift of the Emperor”
Show more...

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $0.99. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «The Amateur Cracksman»:

Download MobiPocket:


Download ePub: