Home » Nonfiction » Dr Rhoderick McNeill » The Australian Symphony from Federation to 1960

January 04 , 2010

The Australian Symphony from Federation to 1960


The symphony retained its primacy as the most prestigious large-scale orchestral form throughout the first half of the twentieth century, particularly in Britain, Russia and the United States. Likewise, Australian composers produced a steady stream of symphonies throughout the period from Federation (1901) through to the end of the 1950s. Stylistically, these works ranged from essays in late nineteenth-century romanticism, twentieth-century nationalism, neo-classicism and near-atonality. Australian symphonies were most prolific during the 1950s, with 36 local entries in the 1951 Commonwealth Jubilee Symphony competition. This extensive repertoire was overshadowed by the emergence of a new generation of composers and critics during the 1960s who tended to regard older Australian music as old-fashioned and derivative.

Download pdf

Read also


“要想抓住男人的心,首先要抓住男人的胃。”身为一名好太太,一手色香味俱全的佳肴是必须掌握的。“三日入厨下,洗手作羹汤。未谙姑食性,先遣小姑尝。”掌握了一手让人垂涎欲滴的厨艺更是轻松调和家庭关系的便捷方法。好太太怎么可以少了一手好厨艺呢!(若使用Kobo eReader阅读,建议导入中文字体)

The Australian Symphony from Federation to 1960 is the first study of this neglected genre and has four aims: firstly, to show the development of symphonic composition in Australia from Federation to 1960; secondly, to highlight the achievement of the main composers who wrote symphonies; thirdly, to advocate the restoration and revival of this repertory; and, lastly, to take a step towards a recasting of the narrative of Australian concert music from Federation to the present. In particular, symphonies by Marshall-Hall, Hart, Bainton, Hughes, Le Gallienne and Morgan emerge as works of particular note.

Show more...

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $134.99. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «The Australian Symphony from Federation to 1960»:

Download Microsoft Reader (LIT):


Download PDF:


Download Adobe DRM: