Home » Kids » Frances Hodgson Burnett » Frances Hodgson Burnett Complete Romance History Anthologies

August 02 , 2007

Frances Hodgson Burnett Complete Romance History Anthologies


An English playwright and author. She is best known for her children's stories, in particular Little Lord Fauntleroy (published in 1885-6), A Little Princess (1905), and The Secret Garden (1911).

Download pdf

Read also

The Secret Garden

“If you look the right way, you can see that the whole world is a garden.” – - Frances Hodgson Burnett, The Secret Garden The Secret Garden is a novel by Frances Hodgson Burnett. It was initially published in serial format starting in the autumn of 1910, and was first published in its…

Includes an active table of contents for easy navigation.
The Good Wolf (1907)
A Fair Barbarian (1881)
T. Tembarom (1913)
The Dawn of a To-morrow (1905)
The Land of the Blue Flower (1909)
The Shuttle (1906)
Sara Crewe (1888)
A Lady of Quality (1896)
The Lost Prince (1914)
Emily Fox-Seton (1901)
Little Lord Fauntleroy (1885)
The Secret Garden (1911)
A Little Princess (1903)
Racketty-Packetty House
Robin (1921)
Little Saint Elizabeth and Other Stories (1888)
The Head of the House of Coombe (1922)
The Cozy Lion (1907)

T. Tembarom (1913)
T. Tembarom, a New York street waif, who has struggled and smiled his way to a precarious success on a cheap newspaper, suddenly awakes to find himself Temple Temple Barholm, master of the ancient manor of Temple Barholm in Yorkshire, with all its resulting complications, amusing and otherwise. His fine sincerity and engaging personality and the timely appearance of a lost heir "to the manor born," save the situation. A charmingly demure English girl supplies the love interest. For all who enjoy a good old-fashioned romance.

The Dawn of a To-morrow (1905)
This wonderful story which aroused such comment and enthusiasm during its publication in Scribner's Magazine will be one of the most striking and important books of the year – it sounds a note of cheer, of inspiration, or practical idealism.

The Shuttle (1906)
This great international romance relates the story of an American girl who, in rescuing her sister from the ruins of her marriage to an Englishman of title, displays splendid qualities of courage, tact and restraint. As a study of American womanhood of modern times, the character of Bettina Vanderpoel stands alone in literature. As a love story, the account of her experience is magnificent. The masterly handling, the glowing style of the book, give it a literary rank to which very few modern novels have attained. (The fifth most popular book of 1908.)

The Lost Prince (1914)
A tale with the glamor of medieval romance, which centers about the mystery that five hundred years before Marco's day, the young prince of the kingdom of Samavia had walked away over the mountains, singing, and had never been heard from. And Marco, a lad of twelve, pledged to the future service of Samavia, lives an unpretentious, wandering life, trained in all worthy things by his father, til his journey as Bearer of the Sign is ended, and his appointed time has come.

Emily Fox-Seton (1901)
A delightful novel in the author's most charming vein. The scene is laid in an English country house, where an amiable English nobleman is the centre of matrimonial interest on the part of both the English and Americans present. Graceful, sprightly, almost delicious in its dialogue and action. It is a book about which one is tempted to write ecstatically.

Little Lord Fauntleroy (1885)
At a very early age an American boy named Cedric is told that he is the sole heir to a British earldom, and so leaves New York to take up residence in his ancestral castle, where, after some initial resistance, he is joined by his middle-class mother, ''Dearest'', the widow of the late heir. His grandfather, the Earl of Dorincourt, intends to teach the boy to become an aristocrat, but Cedric inadvertently teaches his grandfather compassion and social justice, while the artless simplicity and motherly love of Dearest warms his heart.

A Little Princess (1903)
Sara Crewe, a pupil at Miss Minchin's London school, is left in poverty when her father dies, but is later rescued by a mysterious benefactor.

The Head of the House of Coombe (1922)
The best liked and most interesting of all Mrs. Burnett's remarkable stories.

Show more...

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $5.99. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «Frances Hodgson Burnett Complete Romance History Anthologies»:

Download Amazon Kindle:


Download Mobi:

Download Microsoft Reader (LIT):


Download FB2: