Home » Fiction & Literature » George Eliot » Scenes of Clerical Life

December 10 , 2007

Scenes of Clerical Life


the only true knowledge of our fellow-man is that which enables us to feel with himGeorge Eliots first published work consisted of three short novellas: The Sad Fortunes of the Reverend Amos Barton, Mr Gilfils Love-Story, and Janets Repentance. Their depiction of the lives of ordinary men and women in a provincial Midlands town initiated a new era of nineteenth-century literary realism. The tales concern rural members of the clergy and the gossip and factions that a small town generates around them. Amos Barton only realizes how much he depends upon his wifesselfless love when she dies prematurely; Mr Gilfils devotion to a girl who loves another is only fleetingly rewarded; and Janet Dempster suffers years of domestic abuse before the influence of an Evangelical minister turns her life around. These stories are remarkable for the tenderness with which Eliot portrays a bygone time of religious belief in a newly secular age, giving literary fiction an alternative language to religion and philosophy for the observation and understanding of human experience.ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford Worlds Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxfords commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
Show more...

How to download book

Buy this book

You can buy this book now only for $8.99. This is the lowest price for this book.

Buy book

Download book free

If you want to download this book for free, please register, approve your account and get one book for free.


After that you may download book «Scenes of Clerical Life»:

Download Amazon Kindle:


Download Sony BookReader: